Sunflower, Black Oilseed

SF8 (2.2 lbs and 11 lbs) is best grown in soil.
From
$3.49
Add to Cart
  • Description

    Lot SF8 (2.2 lbs and 11 lbs) is best grown in soil. Does not grow well in Promix soil, please find an alternate soil like Greenworld.

    Delicious nutty sunflower taste in crunchy microgreen!

    *Photos may vary from actual seed of current lot

    • Days to Sprout 8 to 10
    • Soak Time 4-8 hours
    • Yield 1/4 cup seed yields approx. 3 cups of sunflower shoots
    • Storage Our seeds should sprout well for a year after you purchase them, if stored in a cool dry place. If you'd like to extend the germination life of your seeds, store them in the fridge. If you store your seeds in the freezer, they'll last even longer!
  • Nutritional Information

    Great source of protein and an excellent source of vitamins B6, and E, calcium, iron, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, and dietary fiber.

  • Did You Know

  • Best Sprouting Method

  • Sprouting Directions

  • Canada Organic
  • USDA Organic
  • Non-GMO

Review Snapshot

Average Customer Rating (based on 38 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following:

  • Pros: The Flavor (20), The Appearance (8), The Taste (5),
  • Best uses: In a Salad (26), By Itself (7), As an Ingredient (5),
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle (24), DIY`er (9), Food Connoisseur (5)

Excellent Germination Rate

  • By: Elaine Verified Buyer from Bakersville, NC US on September 17, 2018
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I have purchased microgreens seed for six years from a different seed company with less and less satisfaction. Thank goodness I found Mumm's Seed. Excellent germination rate, strong plants, easy to harvest. I am a customer for life.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

EXCEPTIONAL SAVINGS AND QUALITY

  • By: Hill Country Hydro Verified Buyer from HELOTES, TX US on August 30, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Nine-day shipping
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I'm in the US. I found Mumm's prices to be significantly better than US prices. The nine-day shipping time has to be programmed into your planting schedule but the price savings was well worth the wait. The quality was excellent. Wonderful germination and rave reviews for flavor from my customers.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Good product

  • By: Micros Verified Buyer from Albuquerque, NM US on September 28, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: None
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Using for microgreens. This is a good price for a quality seed.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Consistent & great texture, delicious

  • By: Sherry Spargo Verified Buyer from Naples, FL US on May 25, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: We had a few trays with low germination but after talking to customer service that was resolved. Thank you!
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

A good crop, family and client favorite

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

100% Germination Seed

  • By: Pleyoo, Inc. MicroGreens Verified Buyer from Fort Myers, FL US on September 26, 2018
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Fantastic germination and harvesting of these seed. The seeds are very healthy,I did not experience any type of fungus on my MicroGreens.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Great flavor

  • By: Green Microgreens Verified Buyer from Riverside, CA US on September 18, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: REMOVING HULLS
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

Very fresh with slight nutty flavor. Easy to grow! Soaking them really speed up the process.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Surprised by the flavor

  • By: FixerUpper Verified Buyer from Mayer,, AZ US on January 2, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: Not the cheapest seeds you can you can buy.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

We have used in a salad, for a salad, and in a green smoothie. I was surprised by the mild flavor. I had expected something hotter but I like the flavor of this GREEN KALE.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Excellent Product -- like always...

  • By: SylvaRocjs Verified Buyer from Franklin, NC US on January 24, 2020
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

We've received consistently great service and great seeds from Mumm's. Good germination, good growth and no mold issues.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

100% germination! Love it!

  • By: Pleyoo Microgreens Verified Buyer from Fort Myers, FL US on December 25, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

This is the black oil sunflower seed I like

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Seed made in heaven?

  • By: Urban Farm Guy Verified Buyer from Richmond, VA US on October 22, 2019
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Cons: None because the pros such as clean seed, excellent germination, vigorous growth gave me easy work to sell $75 to $100 each week at farmers market. I write the pros in the Cons space since my Pros were not listed in the drop down. I am an urban farmer, so
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

I had been having terrific difficulty with sunflower from another company. When the Mums order came the seed all looked clean, same size, and in use got 95% germination with excellent shell shedding. It was USA grown, whereas the failed crop was from Italy to "those guys" and then to me. Couldn't be happier. Now doing my second order.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No