Sunflower, Black Oilseed

Current lot (SF8M) is a smaller plant and leaf. SF8 (11 lbs) is best grown in soil.
From
$3.49
Add to Cart
  • Description

    Lot #SF8M is producing a  smaller leaf and plant.  Small but Mighty!

    Lot SF8 (11 lbs) is best grown in soil.

    Delicious nutty sunflower taste in crunchy microgreen!

    *Photos may vary from actual seed of current lot

    • Days to Sprout 8 to 10
    • Soak Time 4-8 hours
    • Yield 1/4 cup seed yields approx. 3 cups of sunflower shoots
    • Storage Our seeds should sprout well for a year after you purchase them, if stored in a cool dry place. If you'd like to extend the germination life of your seeds, store them in the fridge. If you store your seeds in the freezer, they'll last even longer!
  • Nutritional Information

    Great source of protein and an excellent source of vitamins B6, and E, calcium, iron, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, and dietary fiber.

  • Did You Know

  • Best Sprouting Method

  • Sprouting Directions

  • Canada Organic
  • USDA Organic
  • Non-GMO

Review Snapshot

Average Customer Rating (based on 38 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following:

  • Pros: The Flavor (20), The Appearance (8), The Taste (5),
  • Best uses: In a Salad (26), By Itself (7), As an Ingredient (5),
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle (24), DIY`er (9), Food Connoisseur (5)

Healthy Seeds!

  • By: Babe Ileana Perez Verified Buyer from Fort Myers, FL US on July 14, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

We sow a flat of this sunflower seed, and we are very satisfied with the result. Very healthy and with exquisite savor.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

the very best source of seeds for greens

  • By: Mark mathew braunstein Verified Buyer from quaker hil, CT US on December 27, 2018
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

I should not tell you this (which means I am going to go ahead and tell you this), because if everyone else buys these seeds there might not be enough for me. But these tiny seeds shuck off their hulls better than any other seeds I have ever sown, and I have grown sunflower greens since 1977. With sufficient intense light, especially sunlight, you will never need to manually and laboriously remove a single shell again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Yum!

  • By: Blue Skydog Verified Buyer from Darby, MT US on October 30, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: They do like to pop up at varied times. Covering with a weighted (~ 2 pounds) tray helps minimize this.
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

Mumm's has the best sunnies seed source of all I've tried! I think half our farmers market clients are hooked on them, as many as I sell-even kids! Sunnies are more than 20% (DM) protein with a protein profile almost identical to what humans need. Yummy on open-faced melted cheese sandwiches, or mixed in with salsa, chopped avocados, and plain yogurt for a wonderful and healthy twist on old favorites. Thanks, Mumm family!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

!00% Germination

  • By: Pleyoo MicroGreens Verified Buyer from Fort Myers, FL US on October 6, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

Great flavor, fast germination and my clients love it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Happy with sunnies

  • By: Happy Verified Buyer from Naples, FL US on September 24, 2018
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

We are always happy with Mum’s Sunflower seeds as they produce a great crop.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

The perfect Microgreen

  • By: LukaFarm Verified Buyer from Knoxville, TN US on September 20, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: None
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

These sunflower microgreens are the best. Great germination rate with consistent yield. Great flavor, mild and super crunchy. Great in salads, wraps, with scrambled eggs (really any dish) or straight out of the bag.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

EXCEPTIONAL SAVINGS AND QUALITY

  • By: Hill Country Hydro Verified Buyer from HELOTES, TX US on August 30, 2018
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Nine-day shipping
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I'm in the US. I found Mumm's prices to be significantly better than US prices. The nine-day shipping time has to be programmed into your planting schedule but the price savings was well worth the wait. The quality was excellent. Wonderful germination and rave reviews for flavor from my customers.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

What I was looking for

  • By: Jarrett Verified Buyer from McCordsville, IN US on August 21, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Removing seed hulls
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

After many failed trays with another seed company, I gave Mumm's I try and I am so glad I did. First 3 trays had zero issues and great germination! Very pleased!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Consistent & great texture, delicious

  • By: Sherry Spargo Verified Buyer from Naples, FL US on May 25, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: We had a few trays with low germination but after talking to customer service that was resolved. Thank you!
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

A good crop, family and client favorite

2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Excellent Germination!

  • By: Pleyoo Inc. Microgreens Verified Buyer from Fort Myers , FL US on January 18, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

We always have a great result with this seeds. No problem what so ever. Recommend it!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No