Sunflower, Black Oilseed

Regular Price:
$0.00
Add to Cart
  • Description

    Delicious nutty sunflower taste in a crunchy microgreen!

    *Photos may vary from actual seed of current lot

    • Days to Sprout 8 to 10
    • Soak Time 4-8 hours
    • Yield 1/4 cup seed yields approx. 3 cups of sunflower shoots
    • Storage Our seeds should sprout well for a year after you purchase them, if stored in a cool dry place. If you'd like to extend the germination life of your seeds, store them in the fridge. If you store your seeds in the freezer, they'll last even longer!
  • Nutritional Information

    Great source of protein and an excellent source of vitamins B6, and E, calcium, iron, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, and dietary fiber.

  • Did You Know

  • Best Sprouting Method

  • Sprouting Directions

  • Canada Organic
  • USDA Organic
  • Non-GMO

Review Snapshot

Average Customer Rating (based on 108 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following:

  • Pros: The Flavor (41), The Taste (36), The Appearance (17),
  • Best uses: In a Salad (70), By Itself (23), As an Ingredient (9), In a Juice (6),
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle (74), DIY`er (27), Food Connoisseur (6), Chef (1)

Excellent germinating seed

  • By: Karen Verified Buyer from New Ross, NS CA on March 9, 2017
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I am currently using these seeds for microgreens and am completely satisfied with their quick germination and taste of the greens. I would recommend these to other growers.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Easy to sprout these seeds in the sproutmaster.

  • By: Beb Verified Buyer from West Kelowna, BC CA on June 13, 2016
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Cons: Depending on the temperature, leave the sproutmaster lid on the container 1 day or not at all. I have left the lid on too long and the seeds go moldy. I still got my sprouts.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I used the small sproutmaster to sprout the sunflower seeds and it has worked out both times.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Sunflower Seeds

  • By: Kate Verified Buyer from Uxbridge, ON CA on May 3, 2016
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: None.
  • Best uses: In a Juice
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I have been sprouting and growing Mum's sunflower seeds for a few years with excellent success every time. Very pleased with the quality of the seeds.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Great addition

  • By: SLPT Verified Buyer from Whistler, CA on February 29, 2016
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Just starting using these - on our third batch, and loving them. Great addition to salads, topping on soup, and at side of pretty well anything, or just harvest a few to munch on the run. They take a lot longer 10-12 days than the broccoli and mungs that we also use a lot, but they are worth the wait. Easy to grow in the triple SproutMaster, keeping 3 batches on the go, starting each a week apart.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Fantastic Crunchy Goodness

  • By: Mushroom Man Verified Buyer from Bridgetown, NS CA on January 31, 2016
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

The most popular greens that I sell. Why? Easy - they taste great, they have fantastic crunch and they last really well.

7 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Very good

  • By: Kathy Verified Buyer from Vernon, BC CA on April 17, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: None
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

This sprout is very nice and crunchy with a mild flavour that everyone in my family enjoys. It's one that I always like to have on hand.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

great product

  • By: canadian farmer Verified Buyer from kelowna, BC CA on January 5, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: None
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Really good growth. Has a nice crunchy texture, with great taste.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Great product

  • By: Moosegrower Verified Buyer from Celista, BC CA on December 12, 2017
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Great germination rate, nice succulent results, great flavour!

6 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Happy with the seeds

  • By: Yeefang Verified Buyer from Edmonton, AB CA on November 1, 2017
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Grow healthy and taste pretty good! They grow thicker than pea shoots I am surprised. Thank you for offering good quality non GMO seeds! Good things to have in winter when vegetables are less abundant!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

so so purchase..

  • By: Abraham Youwakim Verified Buyer from Saint Laurent, QC CA on October 28, 2017
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I have tried all kinds of organic and non organic mix, I didn't have good results, always almost half the seeds don't come out, or you come out upside down .. if someone can help. watched all the youtube videos, still no good results.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No