Sunflower, Black Oilseed

Regular Price:
$0.00
Add to Cart
  • Description

    Delicious nutty sunflower taste in a crunchy microgreen!

    *Photos may vary from actual seed of current lot

    • Days to Sprout 8 to 10
    • Soak Time 4-8 hours
    • Yield 1/4 cup seed yields approx. 3 cups of sunflower shoots
    • Storage Our seeds should sprout well for a year after you purchase them, if stored in a cool dry place. If you'd like to extend the germination life of your seeds, store them in the fridge. If you store your seeds in the freezer, they'll last even longer!
  • Nutritional Information

    Great source of protein and an excellent source of vitamins B6, and E, calcium, iron, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, and dietary fiber.

  • Did You Know

  • Best Sprouting Method

  • Sprouting Directions

  • Canada Organic
  • USDA Organic
  • Non-GMO

Review Snapshot

Average Customer Rating (based on 108 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following:

  • Pros: The Flavor (41), The Taste (36), The Appearance (17),
  • Best uses: In a Salad (70), By Itself (23), As an Ingredient (9), In a Juice (6),
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle (74), DIY`er (27), Food Connoisseur (6), Chef (1)

Great seads

  • By: Ewa Verified Buyer from Vancouver, BC CA on April 30, 2020
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Seeds need to be soaked for 3 days and rinsed daily before sprouting.
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Great sprouting ratio. Seedlings are strong, robust and flavourful. I sue the microgreens in salads, sandwiches and in juicing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Best purchase

  • By: Sunflower lover Verified Buyer from Chateauguay, QC CA on March 28, 2020
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: None!
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

The best to grow for replacing the most of vegetables for this period of confinement! Not the only one, but so tasty!! ❤️

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Great seeds for soil sprouts or sprouting

  • By: Sandra Verified Buyer from Annapolis, NS CA on March 16, 2020
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Don't know of any yet.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I am pleased with all of the seeds I have ordered - the black sunflower seeds, buckwheat, radish, and peas have all been good quality. They sprout beautifully and also grow well in soil. I use 80% peat moss, 10% vermiculite, and 10% perlite along with seaweed powder and compost at the bottom before I add the soil - a cup or so per bowl - and place bowls on the windowsill (after a few days in a dark warm place with soaking wet newspaper covering), and within a few day I have healthy sprouts - no direct sun needed - Peter Burke's method. I've also planted and sprouted the broccoli with pretty good results - more uneven in growth for some reason, but good nevertheless.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

poor germination

  • By: microgrower Verified Buyer from Beamsville, ON CA on February 4, 2020
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: no good germination
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

this lot of sunflower seeds had a poor germination rate, I would say 60% ,did not germinate evenly.I used different type of soil but no change in result.I had a different Lot before which was much much better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Loved them

  • By: Randy Verified Buyer from Delta, BC CA on January 15, 2020
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Not sure yet
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I loved these greens but was a bit disappointed with the percentage of germination. I am going to reduce me seed density and see what happens.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

SO GOOD!

  • By: LISA Verified Buyer from MAPLE RIDGE, BC CA on November 1, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: NONE
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

YUMMY!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Best economical purchase

  • By: Patr Verified Buyer from Brighton, AZ CA on July 12, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Removing the clingy hulls
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I have used Mumm`s seeds for almost 20 years and absolutely LOVE them. I can`t get over the quality and viability of them. The flavour of these sprouts are fanominal! I highly recommend Mumm`s seeds to anyone who values quality in a food item.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Good product, high variability

  • By: Customer Verified Buyer from Montréal, QC CA on March 8, 2019
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: As stated above
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I ordered black oil seed and received grey striped which completely changes the production characteristics. It also had a pretty low germination rate @ approximately 90% instead of indicated 95%.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No