Sunflower, Black Oilseed

Regular Price:
$0.00
Add to Cart
  • Description

    Delicious nutty sunflower taste in a crunchy microgreen!

    *Photos may vary from actual seed of current lot

    • Days to Sprout 8 to 10
    • Soak Time 4-8 hours
    • Yield 1/4 cup seed yields approx. 3 cups of sunflower shoots
    • Storage Our seeds should sprout well for a year after you purchase them, if stored in a cool dry place. If you'd like to extend the germination life of your seeds, store them in the fridge. If you store your seeds in the freezer, they'll last even longer!
  • Nutritional Information

    Great source of protein and an excellent source of vitamins B6, and E, calcium, iron, magnesium, niacin, phosphorus, potassium, and dietary fiber.

  • Did You Know

  • Best Sprouting Method

  • Sprouting Directions

  • Canada Organic
  • USDA Organic
  • Non-GMO

Review Snapshot

Average Customer Rating (based on 108 reviews)

Customers most agreed on the following:

  • Pros: The Flavor (41), The Taste (36), The Appearance (17),
  • Best uses: In a Salad (70), By Itself (23), As an Ingredient (9), In a Juice (6),
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle (74), DIY`er (27), Food Connoisseur (6), Chef (1)

Loved by ALL Beings

  • By: k8ydid Verified Buyer from Rossland, BC CA on January 8, 2016
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: For people, removing the husks are a bit fiddly. All others don't care.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

Adored by Humans, my chickens love them too. So do Bearded-Dragons as a regular customer of mine will attest. Parrots? Parakeets? Snakes? Gerbils? Why not? These Google out as the most nutritious micro-green going. I load my green smoothies with them.

9 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Not as good as the Sunflower seeds SF6B (product of USA)

  • By: Microgreen enthusiast Verified Buyer from Calgary, AB CA on August 19, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: About 50% of seeds does not sprout successfully.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I observed that this type of sunflower seeds SF6W (Product of italy) did not sprout as evenly as the other type of sunflower seed I purchsed before (sf6b). I plant my seeds on fiber mats as microgreens. With the SF6B, I would have consistent germination and very good harvest,. Seeds will sprout at the same time all the time. With these seeds (sf6w), I would say only about 50% would sprout and grow successfully as microgreens. Have sowed this type of seeds three times (same batch) now but always end up with the same bad results. I don't know if I just got a bad batch of seeds or if the SF6B are just easier to grow.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Like the sunflower sprouts

  • By: Beb Verified Buyer from West Kelowna, BC CA on June 13, 2016
  • Pros: The Appearance
  • Cons: Depending on the temperature, either place the lid on the sproutmaster for 1 day or not at all. I left it on too long and the seeds got moldy. I still got my sprouts though.
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

I have sprouted sunflower seeds twice now, the first time adding too many seeds to the sproutmaster. The second time was better because I used a single layer.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

sunflower black oilseed

  • By: sprouternewbie Verified Buyer from Selkirk, MB CA on May 10, 2016
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

super fresh taste , pretty sprouts on top of a regular salad and good for you

8 of 13 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Super Yummy!

  • By: J9's Tiny Farm Verified Buyer from Regina, SK CA on May 9, 2016
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Cons: Just make sure you eat them on time before they get bitter
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

Pleasantly surprised you could eat sunflowers as a microgreen. Definitely want to make sure you eat them within the 10-14 day period, before they get bitter, They have a nice sweet nutty taste to them :)

8 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

excellent

  • By: Denise Verified Buyer from st sauveur, QC CA on November 29, 2015
  • Pros: The Flavor
  • Best uses: As an Ingredient
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

love this green food , on everything, easy to grow

8 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Infected with fungus

  • By: Ian vink Verified Buyer from North Vancouver, BC CA on August 21, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: Batch infected with while fungus
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

I've bought these for years with no problem, but the latest batch is unusable. I soak for four hours and then layout on soil under pressure in the dark. In three days the seeds are covered in a while furry fungus that destroys them. I have tried washing the seeds strongly, sterilizing all equipment. Everything. Can I get a replacement from a different sources?

7 of 11 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Excellent purchase

  • By: mjp Verified Buyer from Vancouver Island, BC CA on March 15, 2018
  • Pros: The Taste
  • Cons: Not a con, but good place to mention just in case you think removing the shells is a con. I did as Mumm's suggested and frequently brushed my hand over the top of the spouts to loosen and encourage the shells to fall off. It works.
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: DIY`er

First attempt was to grow in a small tray, in a 1/2" of potting medium. Grew very well. Took the tray as an appie to neighbors with two young children. The children devoured the tray, cutting each sprout and eating, almost like it was a candy. A sweet, most enjoyable taste. I agree with other reviewer, tastes really good at first leaves. Next, tried growing in a bit of water. Didn't work for me, threw out. I will stick to the soil method...and enjoy!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Fast Efficient Service!

  • By: Donna B Verified Buyer from Qualicum Beach, BC CA on January 28, 2018
  • Best uses: In a Salad
  • Describe Yourself: Food Connoisseur

Seeds arrived almost before I remembered ordering them. Is this because Canada Post is so great? Not sure. More likely the staff at Mumms is on it. Thanks - this is the beginning of a great relationship.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Best purchase!

  • By: Laura Verified Buyer from Montreal, QC CA on December 8, 2017
  • Best uses: By Itself
  • Describe Yourself: Healthy Lifestyle

My favorite. Crunchy leaves. Takes some time but totally worth it. You should choose a container big enough so the seeds are not to squeezed together.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No